Wednesday, June 16, 2021
HomeCity News12 out of 16 candidates for MLC polls have criminal cases: ADR

12 out of 16 candidates for MLC polls have criminal cases: ADR

Out of the 16 candidates, who are in fray for the December 27 biennial elections to eight local authorities constituencies in Maharashtra Legislative Council, 12 have criminal cases registered against them, according to election watchdog Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).

Nine nominees for the polls are ‘crorepatis’, as per the Maharashtra Election Watch report brought out by ADR. Two candidates, one each from Congress and NCP, have have serious criminal charges against them, claims ADR.

NCP-backed sitting independent candidate Arunkaka Jagtap, contesting for Ahmednagar local authorities constituency, has charge under IPC section 326 (voluntarily causing grievous hurt by dangerous weapons or means).

Former Congress minister Satej alias Bunty Patil, contesting from Kolhapur local authorities constituency, has a case related to bribery against him under IPC section 171E.

The partywise break-up of candidates with criminal cases includes Independents-2, NCP-3, Congress-3, Shiv Sena-2 and BJP-2.

In the case of ‘crorepatis’ in fray, five are independents, 3 from NCP, Sena-3, Congress-3 and 2 from BJP. The wealthiest candidate in fray is former NCP leader and now independent candidate Prasad Lad, whose net assets are worth Rs. 101 crore, followed by Ashok alias Bhai Jagtap (Congress) Rs. 87 crore, Ravindra Sakpal (NCP) Rs. 86 crore, Amrishbhai Patel (Congress) Rs. 80 crore and Satej alias Bunty Patil Rs. 29 crore.

The candidates having maximum liabilities are – Prasad Lad (Mumbai) Rs. 72 crore, Ashok alias Bhai Jagtap (Mumbai) Rs. 23 crore and Amrishbhai Patel (Dhule-Nandurbar) Rs. 14 crore. Three nominees have declared high income. They are – Prasad Lad Rs. 4 crore, Satej Patil Rs. 1 crore and Arunkaka Jagtap Rs. 54 lakh.

Literacy wise, the ADR report says that out of the 16 candidates, one is literate, one is V standard pass, one is VIII standard pass, one X standard pass, one XII standard pass, five are graduates, two graduate professionals, one post-graduate and three others have not provided information about their educational qualification.

Also, 10 candidates are in the age group of 51 to 60 years, three are in 41 to 50 years age bracket, two in age group of 61 to 70 years and one in 71 to 80 years age group. The eight local authorities constituencies in Legislative Council for which elections will be held include two in Mumbai, and one each in Akola-Washim-Buldhana, Dhule-Nandurbar, Kolhapur, Ahmednagar, Solapur and Nagpur.

Prominent candidates include – Ashok alias Bhai Jagtap (Congress), Ramdas Kadam (Shiv Sena), Amrishbhai Patel (Dhule-Nandurbar), Arunkaka Jagtap (Ahmednagar), Gopikisan Bajoriya (Akola-Washim-Buldhana), Dipakbaba Salunkhe (Solapur), Girish Vyas (Nagpur) and Satej Patil (Kolhapur).

Most Popular

- Advertisment -