Thursday, July 29, 2021
HomeTop News8th Newsmakers Achievers Award

8th Newsmakers Achievers Award

Dedicated to acid attack victims and sex workers daughters

Newsmakers Broadcasting and Communications Pvt Ltd will host the eighth edition of the ‘Newsmakers Achievers Award 2017′ on May, 1 2017 at Rangswar Auditorium, Yashwantrao Chavan centre, Nariman Point. The awards are being held to recognise the efforts of common man who has made some difference to the society through their hardwork and determination. We have dedicated this year’s award for the empowerment of acid attack victims and sex workers daughters.  Acid attack victims have to suffer blindness, breathing trouble, disfigurement and scarring. They also become socially isolated from the society as nobody comes forward to assist them. They have to undergo multiple surgeries and are unable to bear the expenses of medical treatment.

Sex workers children hail from extremely vulnerable environment. If girls continue to stay with their mothers they might also have to follow their profession. Many girls don’t have birth certificate to authenticate their date of birth. Many NGOs are working for the welfare of sex workers but more steps needs to be taken by the society to bring them into mainstream society.

Pandit Birju Maharaj and Shree Pradeep Welankar will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Diwakar Raote will receive the Best Politician Award. Aasha Warriar will be honoured with the Best Spiritual Leader award. Dr Mukesh Batra will receive the Best Doctor award. Dr Deepak Bhosale will receive the Best Educationist award. Roxy Arora will be honoured with the best Author award. Virag Gupta will receive the best lawyer award. Namrata Thakker will be honoured with the Best Social Entreprenuer award.

Deep Haider will receive the Best Journalist (Editor) award. Rashid Hashmi will be felicitated with the Best News Anchor award. Vicky Nanjappa will be honoured with Best Journalist (Digital) award. Varun Singh will receive the Best Journalist (Print) award. Anil Nagpal will receive the Best Photographer award. Nandita Venkatesan will be felicitated with Best Writer/Reporter award.

Asha Mamedi will be honoured with the Best Social Worker jury award. Sushant Divgikar will be felicitated with Best VJ award. Siddharth Nigan will receive the Best Child Artist award. Meghna Malik will be felicitated with the Best Actress award. Darshan Kumaar will receive the Best Actor award. Lubna Adams will be honoured with the Best Fashion Choreographer award and Ssumier S. Pasricha will receive the Best Comedian award. Dolly Parekh will be felicitated with Best Fashion Designer award.

Samidha Guru will be honoured with the Best Marathi Actress award while Kishor Kadam will receive the Best Marathi Actor award.

Vaidehi Taman, Group Editor of NBC said, “Even though the government has framed stringent laws to curb acid attacks but such incidents continue to rise. Various steps have been taken by the government like regulating the sale of acid and asking purchaser to furnish their identity but still accused continue to roam free after committing the crime.”

“We tried to set a trend by establishing a self-funded organization with assistance of working journalists. This is the only parallel media existing at the moment. Since most of the media organization is owned by corporate, politicians there is too much interference in its functioning. Today media has lost its independence.”

Starting from a modest beginning our organisation has overcome several hurdles to complete eight years. Within a short span of time NBC has become a force to reckon and has earned a name for itself in the media industry. We believe in empowering people and providing them an opportunity to report about the news and other issues affecting the common man. We are offering a medium from where they can speak and debate about the issues pertaining to national interest.

Our newspaper Afternoon Voice’ is a Mumbai daily covering all aspects of the city. Besides the daily diet of news, sports and business; readers are served stimulating columns and features related to the theme of the day.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -