Thursday, January 27, 2022
HomeCity NewsAjit Pawar, Narayan Rane among 22 ex-ministers yet to vacate bungalows

Ajit Pawar, Narayan Rane among 22 ex-ministers yet to vacate bungalows

Only 19 out of 41 ministers in the erstwhile Congress-NCP government in Maharashtra have vacated their official bungalows so far, whereas names of NCP stalwart Ajit Pawar and senior Congress leader Narayan Rane figure in the list of squatters, an RTI query has revealed.

As per the information received by activist Anil Galgali from the state government, former deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar and his then colleagues Chhagan Bhujbal, Narayan Rane, Jayant Patil, Harshvardhan Patil and Patangrao Kadam are among 22 ministers who are yet to vacate their official residences.

Former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan vacated “Varsha”, his official residence.

“A minister has to vacate his official residence within 15 days of losing the post. For a first extension of three months, a rent of Rs 25 per sq ft is charged and of Rs 50 per sq ft for another three months as per rules,” Galgali said.

Interestingly, among those ministers who are yet to vacate their bungalows also include Uday Samant, Sanjay Savkare, Sanjay Deotale and Vijaykumar Gavit who had fought recent Assembly polls on Shiv Sena-BJP tickets.

While Samant won from Ratnagiri on Shiv Sena ticket, rest won as BJP candidates. Deotale lost at the hustings.

When contacted, ex-Congress minister of state, D P Sawant said that he has sought an extension of one month to vacate the official premises as he could not vacate it due to “certain difficulties”.

“I will pay the rent as per government rules,” he said.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]