Thursday, June 24, 2021
HomeSportsBhuvneshwar Kumar wins ICC People’s Choice Award

Bhuvneshwar Kumar wins ICC People’s Choice Award

India fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has won this year’s People’s Choice Award.

He now becomes only the fourth cricketer to win this coveted prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012, and India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who won it last year.

Other nominees for this year’s award were England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn.

“First of all, I’d like to thank each and every one who has voted for me in the LG People’s Choice Award. This award means a lot to me as I didn’t get it only for my individual performance but because of the love and support of my fans,” Bhuvneshwar said.

“Where I am today is because of my parents and coaches, and whatever they taught me in life as a person. I’d also like to thank my team-mates because without their support this won’t have been possible. So, thank you so much,” he added.

Congratulating Bhuvneshwar, BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel said: “He has been one of our most consistent cricketers with bat and ball in the recent past. He is the third Indian to win this annual award, after Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni. On behalf of the BCCI, I congratulate him, and wish him all the best for the forthcoming matches and series.”

The award was introduced at the ICC Awards 2010 in Bengaluru, with fans voting for their favourite player either through the official website or via Twitter. Voting commenced on October 8 and closed at midnight UAE time on October 30.

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -