Friday, September 17, 2021
HomeNationDelhi Assembly poll dates announced; voting on Feb 7, counting on Feb...

Delhi Assembly poll dates announced; voting on Feb 7, counting on Feb 10

With the Election Commission of India announcing, Monday, dates for Assembly Election in Delhi, the stage is set for another face off between Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led BJP and Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party.

Voting for Delhi Assembly Elections 2015 would be held in a single phase on February 7 with the counting of votes scheduled for February 10, Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath announced at a press conference held at the Nirvachan Sadan. Delhi has 70 Assembly seats.

The poll process will begin on Jan 14 when the elections would be notified. Last date of making nomination is January 21; they will be scrutinized on January 22. Last date of withdrawal of nomination would be January 28.

The total electorate of Delhi is 1.3 crore and the total number of total stations are 11763. Model Code of Conduct has come into force from today.

The last time Arvind Kejriwal challenged Modi – in the Lok Sabha polls – the people of Varanasi had left him humbled.

The Congress forms the third axis of politics in Delhi but given the party’s weak performance in successive Assembly polls after the Lok Sabha poll defeat, the battle is essentially between the BJP and the AAP.

The EC appears to have taken care while finalising the dates so as to ensure that it does not come in the way of school annual examinations, including those conducted by the CBSE that usually start early March.

Keen to maintain the winning streak, the BJP is leaving nothing to chance in Delhi with PM Modi leading from the front with a rally last week where he slammed “anarchists” saying they have no place in democracy and that they should join Naxals in the jungles.

However, AAP is quietly confident that its door-to-door campaign in the city will once again bear results.

In 2013, the BJP had emerged as the single largest party with 31 MLAs, followed by AAP which got 28 MLAs.

As Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath will demit office on January 15 on attaining 65 years of age, he won’t be at the helm when the results will be declared.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]