Sunday, June 13, 2021
HomeOpinionDiaryEmergence of youth leaders in politics

Emergence of youth leaders in politics

It is really a hinting sign that voters want young and dynamic leaders who can work for the development of their constituency with energy and enthusiasm. There are many old age politicians who have lost the battle whereas their son and daughter won the Lok Sabha or Assembly elections. However, dynastic politics is flourishing across the board and the country got more than a glimpse of it. Cutting across party lines, many families had joined the election fray. In most cases, the younger generation sailed through – perhaps showing thereby the beginnings of a new trend.

Former industries minister Narayan Rane is the biggest example. Contesting from Kudal, the Congressman and former Industrial Minister stood against his traditional rival, Sena nominee Vaibhav Naik, and lost by a margin of 10,000. Rane used to earlier contest from Kankavli. But his son, Nitesh, who contested from Kankavli, emerged victorious, defeating BJP’s Pramod Jathar by 25,000 votes. Incidentally, Rane’s elder son Nilesh had lost to Sena’s Vinayak Raut from Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg by a huge margin in the Lok Sabha polls.

If we look to our neighbouring city then Sandeep Naik, son of veteran NCP leader Ganesh Naik, won from Airoli, even though his father, a veteran politician himself, lost. Former excise minister Ganesh Naik lost to BJP’s Manda Mhatre by a narrow margin of 1,491. Though Naik just about missed garnering enough votes, his son Sandeep defeated Sena’s Vijay Chougule by 8,725 votes in Airoli.

In our own city, Eknath Gaikwad lost to young and dynamic Rahul Shewale of Shiv Sena from South Central Mumbai during the LS polls. However, in the assembly poll, his daughter Varsha retained Dharavi, winning by 15,238 votes against Shiv Sena’s Baburao Mane.

Solapur voters have send Praniti Shinde, daughter of former Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde to Maharashtra Assembly but former Home minister himself lost Lok Sabha election from same place in May this year by a huge margin to BJP’s Sharad Bansode.

Amit Deshmukh, son of late former Union Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh has retained his seat with some sympathy votes from Latur. This is Amit’s second term in the assembly. Similarly, in Dhule, Congress nominee Rohidas Patil lost again, but his son Kunal won against BJP’s Manohar Bhadane by 16,082 votes.

If we go little far and talk about Osmanabad, Padmasinh Patil was defeated by Sena’s Ravindra Gaikwad by 2.34 lakh votes in Lok Sabha. But in the state polls, Patil’s son Rana Jagjitsinh defeated Sena’s Omraje Nimbalkar by 10,000 votes.

The first family of the NCP was out too – Mr. Sharad Pawar didn’t contest the Lok Sabha election his nephew, former deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar won by over a whopping 1.35 lakh votes from Baramati in spite of corruption charges put up by the then opposition leader. Mr. Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule won a Member of Parliament seat from their bastion.

The Bhujbals, father and son, both won in Assembly. While senior NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal was contesting from Yeola, his son Pankaj won from Nandgaon. However, sr. Bhujbal lost in the Lok Sabha election which he fought from Nashik this year.

It is not that people have totally rejected one member and accepted one member of the family. If you go through tribal area of north Maharashtra, NCP rebel and former minister Dr. Vijaykumar Gavit won from Nandurbar on a BJP ticket and in May his daughter Heena Gavit had created history by defeating heavyweight Congress leader Manikrao Gavit. Bahujan Vikas Aghadi chief Hitendra Thakur won the Vasai seat and his son Kshitij Thakur also bagged the neighbouring Nallasopara seat, both in Palghar district.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -