Saturday, June 19, 2021
HomeNationFormer UPA ministers served notices for ‘unauthorised’ stay in government bungalows

Former UPA ministers served notices for ‘unauthorised’ stay in government bungalows

Acting tough, the Urban Development Ministry under Venkaiah Naidu, on Wednesday, served eviction notices to 16 former ministers of the UPA government for not vacating their allotted government bungalows.

Naidu in a written reply in Parliament said that the ministers are staying unauthorised in government bungalows for over a month now and hence were served eviction notices.

Naidu also informed that these ministers owe a total damage charges of Rs. 20,92,463 for one month of unauthorized stay till July 26. Damage charges ranged from Rs 53,250 per month in case of Type V accommodation of Lalchand Kataria to Rs. 2,43,678 for Type III accommodation of Jaipal Reddy.

Other ministers who have been served eviction notices are: Kapil Sibal, Ajit Singh, Dr Farooq Abdullah, Beni Prasad Verma, Pallam Raju, Dr Girija Vyas, Krishna Tirath, Sri Kant Jena, Sachin Pilot, Jitendra Singh, Pradip Jain Aditya, Porika Balram Naik, Killi Kriparani and Manikrao Gavit.

Naidu further informed that another 21 former ministers are staying in general pool bungalows and they have been given fifteen days time to move into their entitled accommodation to be provided by respective House Committees.

These former ministers who are members of either Rajya Sabha or Lok Sabha have been advised to obtain accommodation from their respective pools.

These former ministers include AK Anthony, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mallikarjuna Kharge, Veerappa Moily, Vyalar Ravi, Oscar Fernandes, Jairam Ramesh, Jyothiraditya Scindia, KV Thomas, K Ranhman Khan, KH Muniyappa, Shasi Tharoor, Chiranjivi, Mullappally Ramachandran, Rajiv Shukla, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, AH Khan Choudhury, Ninon Erring, Dr EM Sudershan Nachiappan, KC Venugopal and J Seelam.

In total, 683 flats ranging from Type I to Type VII are under unauthorised occupation of former employees and others for a period ranging from one month to 21 years. All these have been issued eviction notices.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -