Sunday, June 13, 2021
HomeNationGovernment prepares list of five governors to fill vacancies in Raj Bhawans...

Government prepares list of five governors to fill vacancies in Raj Bhawans

The Central government has prepared a list of five governors to fill up vacancies in various Raj Bhawans, according to sources. The probable names on the list doing the round include former Uttar Pradesh Assembly Speaker Keshri Nath Tripathi, former Union minister Ram Naik, former Lucknow MP Lalji Tandon, former Bhopal MP Kailash Joshi, BJP leader from Kerala O Rajagopal and veteran party leader from Himachal Pradesh Shanta Kumar.

Earlier, Home Minister Rajnath Singh had said that the government would “very soon appoint some Governors”.

Following the change of guard at the Centre and the new regime’s pressure, several Governors have already resigned. Some of those who left their posts are BL Joshi (Uttar Pradesh), MK Narayanan (West Bengal), Shekhar Dutt (Chhattisgarh), Ashwani Kumar (Nagaland) and B V Wanchoo (Goa).

Two Governors — H R Bhardwaj (Karnataka) and Devanand Konwar (Tripura) — retired late last month.

A few other Governors appointed by the previous UPA regime, however, continue to remain in office despite the NDA government’s pressure. They include K Sankaranarayanan (Maharashtra), Sheila Dikshit (Kerala), Jaganath Pahadia (Haryana) and Shivraj V Patil (Punjab).

Gujarat Governor Kamala Beniwal was transferred to the Mizoram Raj Bhawan on Sunday, and Mizoram Governor Vakkom Purushothaman has been shifted to Nagaland for the remainder of their term.

The sources said both Beniwal and Purushothaman may put in their papers.

Name of former Attorney General Soli Sorabjee is also doing the round to be appointed as Governor. Kerala Governor Dikshit and Maharashtra Governor Sankaranarayanan too may be transferred to the Northeastern states, the sources said.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -