Wednesday, June 16, 2021
HomeCity NewsGovernment sanctions open inquiry against 6 TMC officials

Government sanctions open inquiry against 6 TMC officials

The Maharashtra government here accorded sanction for an open inquiry against six Thane Municipal Corporation (TMC) officials in connection with the Lucky Compound building collapse in Mumbra here that claimed 74 lives.

The inquiry will be carried out by Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB) Thane division and the names were published on state ACB website recently, Maharashtra ACB website stated.

The illegal seven-storeyed building in Shil Phata area of Mumbra crashed on April 4, 2013 killing 74 persons and injuring over 100.

The officials are among 25 persons who were arrested in connection with the incident.

The officials against whom the open enquiry has been sanctioned are — deputy municipal commissioners (DMC) Srikant R Sarmokdam and Deepak Chavan, assistant municipal commissioner (AMC) Babasaheb S Andale, executive engineer Suabsh Rawal, deputy engineer Ramesh Inamdar and ward officer (Mumbra) Shyam Thorbhole.

Though police have arrested 25 persons including local NCP corporator, builders and middlemen, trial in the case is yet to start as a number of petitions challenging the bail granted to the accused is still pending with the Supreme Court.

The Shil Phata locality, which used to be a deserted area, was tapped by several prominent builders couple of years back who had built multi-storeyed housing projects without adhering to the norms.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -