Thursday, June 17, 2021
HomeSportsIndian selectors pick 15-man World Cup squad without Yuvraj; Binny, Jadeja, Axar...

Indian selectors pick 15-man World Cup squad without Yuvraj; Binny, Jadeja, Axar included

15-man-World-CupIndian national selectors on Tuesday announced the 15-member squad for the ICC World Cup 2015, scheduled to take place in Australia and New Zealand from February 14. India’s 2011 World Cup hero Yuvraj Singh was ignored despite a hat-trick of hundreds in the Ranji Trophy.

BCCI opted to select injured Ravindra Jadeja alongside Axar Patel and Stuart Binny and ignored the likes of Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh and Murali Vijay.

Ishant Sharma who missed the fourth Test against Australia due to pain in his left knee, was selected alongside Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami.

In the spin department frontline spinner Ravichrandan Ashwin was selected and will lead the attack.

Amongst the batsmen regulars Shikhar Dhawan Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu and Suresh Raina get selected. Rayudu will be the reserve wicket-keeping option with Wriddhiman Saha and Robin Uthappa being ignored.

A BCCI official said that Jadeja is recovering well and will be fit soon. He also stated that all possibilities were discussed including that of Yuvraj SIngh but they decided to go with the best 15 players.

MS Dhoni will once again lead the India in the quadrennial event, with Virat Kohli as his deputy. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) via their official Twitter account announced the name of 15 players, who have booked their berth for the biggest ICC cricket carnival.

Yuvraj Singh, who came in contention after smashing three back-to-back tons in domestic cricket even after missing the cut in the 30-man probables list, was given a cold shoulder once again by the selectors.

Robin Uthappa who was amongst the runs in all formats of the game was ignored and it will raise a few eyebrows.

The squad for the ODI tri-series featuring India, Australia and England after the Test matches were also selected.

The 15-member squad will be there alongside Mohit Sharma and Dhawal Kulkarni who are selected as extra two players.

India’s 15-man squad for World Cup 2015
MS Dhoni, S Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Raydu, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Akshar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny and Umesh Yadav.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -