Wednesday, June 23, 2021
HomeNationPatna HC restores Assembly membership of 4 JD(U) MLAs

Patna HC restores Assembly membership of 4 JD(U) MLAs

The Patna High Court on Tuesday restored Assembly membership of 4 Janata Dal (United) MLAs, who were were disqualified last month from the Bihar Legislative Assembly for anti-party activities.

The HC sets aside the November 1, 2014 order of Bihar Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary against the legislators.

Chaudhary disqualified these four rebel JD(U) MLAs under the provisions of the anti-defection law.

With disqualification of four MLAs, the JD(U)’s strength in the state Legislative Assembly had come down to 111.

The BJP has 88 members in the House followed by RJD (24), Congress (5), CPI(1) and Independents (5).

Four rebel JD(U) MLAs – Gyanendra Singh Gyanu, Neeraj Singh Bablu, Ravindra Rai and Rahul Sharma on same charge -were disqualified under the anti-defection law for anti-party activities on November.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -