Tuesday, June 22, 2021
HomeNationRaghubar Das stakes claim to form government in Jharkhand

Raghubar Das stakes claim to form government in Jharkhand

Raghubar-DasRaghubar Das, who was on Friday elected as the BJP state legislature party leader, has staked claim to form the next government in Jharkhand.

Raghuvar Das, alongwith AJSU leaders, met state Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the government.

Das, a five-time legislator from East Jamshedpur, will be Jharkhand’s 10th and first non-tribal chief minister.

As per reports, Das will take oath on December 28. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the ceremony, reports added.

After being elected, Das thanked everyone for giving him the opportunity and told reporters that he would bring development and good governance to Jharkhand.

It is the first time that a non-tribal has been chosen for the top post in Jharkhand, which has seen chief ministers only from the tribal community.
The BJP itself had two tribal chief ministers in the past — Babulal Marandi (once) and Arjun Munda (thrice).

JMM leaders Shibu Soren (thrice), Hemant Soren (once) and Madhu Koda (once) are the other tribal leaders who had been the chief ministers since the state’s creation 14 years ago.

The BJP-AJSU alliance got majority in the just concluded Assembly Elections, winning 42 out of 81 seats.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -