Wednesday, September 22, 2021
HomeTop NewsStar-studded night of 6th Newsmakers Achievers’ Award

Star-studded night of 6th Newsmakers Achievers’ Award

Award-LeadThe sixth edition of Newsmakers Achievers Awards function was held on 1st May, 2015 at Trident Hotel. The awards were organised with an objective to felicitate people who have made contribution to the society through hard work and determination. Various personalities from all walks of life be it in media, politics, academic and social sector were honoured. The award was handed over to them by eminent personalities.

The hall was set up in a glitzy and glamorous way. All provisions were made to ensure that the guests are comfortable and they enjoy the night. The awardees were escorted right from outside where they alighted from the respective cars/cabs and were taken to their seats. Vaidehi Taman Group Editor of Newsmakers Broadcasting and Communication Pvt Ltd met each one of them personally as soon as they entered the hall. Attendees paid tributes to the victims of Nepal earthquake.

The show was hosted by Pratibimb Sharma who kept the audience glued to their seats for the special evening. Writer Daya Prakash Sinha, Former Chief Information Commission and RTI Activist Shailesh Gandhi and veteran Bollywood actor Dalip Tahil was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award.

Special Public Prosecutor Ujjwal Nikam received the Best Lawyer Award. Dr Sunita Dave was honoured with the Best Doctor award. The award for the best architect was bagged by Arch Vivek Bhole. Sandhya Purecha was honoured with the best Classical Dancer award. Maharashtra state Finance Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar was felicitated with the Best Performing Politician award. Sachin Kalbag received the Best News Editor Print award. Sunil Grover (Gutthi) received the best actor in a comic role for television. Kanchan Srivastava received the Best Journalist award.

Neeti Mohan received the Best Singer award. She also had sung the song Jiya Jiya re from the film Jab Tak Hai Jaan. Sai Tamhankar was felicitated with the Best Marathi Actress Award. Nevaan Nigam received the Best Child Artist award. Actor Nakuul Mehta received the Best TV actor award. Komal Bora was felicitated with the Ms Wheelchair India Special Jury Award.

Finance Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar said, “Whenever one tries to do good work he has to face several hurdles. We are trying our best to overcome every difficulty and to set the path for the state’s development. Maharashtra has always been at the forefront when it comes development and I am sure that the state will achieve significant progress in the future.”

Former Chief Information Commissioner and RTI activist Shailesh Gandhi said, “The RTI act was passed in the year 2005. Since then it has become a landmark legislation which has empowered the citizens to participate in the functioning of the democracy. However, many people are still unaware about how to file RTI and obtain information. The Maharashtra Government has approved an ordinance on Right to Services which binds the state government and its agencies to deliver designated services within a specific time-frame. Citizens should become proactive and be aware about their rights.”

Actor Nakuul Mehta said, “Each one of us are doing a good job in our chosen field of profession. I am thankful to Vaidehiji and Newsmakers for honouring me with this award.”

Journalist Kanchan Srivastava said, “I feel honoured to receive this award. I dedicate this award to my mother whom I lost last month.”

Vaidehi Taman, Group Editor of Newsmakers Broadcasting and Communication Pvt Ltd said, “We are the only media firm in Asia to keep parallel media alive. Today media has been controlled by corporate houses, businessmen etc. But Newsmakers has succeeded to break this practice and has managed to sustain itself in this cut throat competitive world.”

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]