Saturday, July 24, 2021
HomeNationABVP wins three of four DUSU elections; Amit Tanwar new prez

ABVP wins three of four DUSU elections; Amit Tanwar new prez

In a hard-fought election, Delhi University’s Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) – the student wing of the Bharatiya Janata Party((BJP) — continued their dominance by winning three out of the four top posts after the Results came out today, Amit Tanwar became the new DUSU President followed by Priyanka Chabri who is the new Vice President.

ABVP’s Ankit Sangwan is the new DUSU Secretary, while the Congress-backed National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) bagged the post of Joint Secretary through Mohit Sangwan.

Last year, the AVBP had swept the DUSU polls, winning all of the four top positions.

According to reports, over 36 percent of students exercised their franchise in the keenly contested polls with the voting percentage recording a dip of over 7 percent from last year’s overall turnout of 43.3 per cent.

The students’ council elections also took place in 44 colleges where Congress-affiliated National Students Union of India(NSUI) won the five-member panels in 33 colleges while the BJP’s student wing Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parsihad (ABVP) emerged victorious in 11 colleges.

While DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties of the varsity, colleges have their individual students’ councils, the polling went peacefully, and no incidents of violence were reported.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -