Murli Deora, Hussain Dalwai file nomination for RS elections

Murli-Deora-pmFormer Union minister Murli Deora and ex-Maharashtra minister Hussain Dalwai filed their nomination papers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for February 7.

The Congress party, on Sunday, renominated Deora and Dalwai for third and second term respectively.

The two filed their nominations in presence of Chief Minister Prithivraj Chavan and state Congress president Manikrao Thakre among others. Tuesday is the last day for filing of nominations.

So far, Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, eminent lawyer Majid Memon (both NCP), Rajkumar Dhoot (Shiv Sena) and Sanjay Kakade (Independent) have filed their nomination papers.

The elections are being held for seven seats from Maharashtra and 287 elected members of the Legislative Assembly form the Electoral College.