Friday, June 25, 2021
HomeNation‘No confidence’ motion ‘adopted’ against Arunachal Pradesh government

‘No confidence’ motion ‘adopted’ against Arunachal Pradesh government

Nabam TukiIn another controversial day of dramatic proceedings in Arunachal Pradesh politics, Opposition BJP and rebel Congress MLAs joined forces to pass a “no confidence” motion against the Nabam Tuki-led Congress government, and to “choose” a rebel Congress MLA as the new chief minister.

A day after they “impeached” Speaker Nabam Rebia in a make-shift “Assembly” premises in a community hall, the opposition and rebels Congress MLAs met at a conference hall of a hotel on Thursday as the Assembly premises have been sealed since yesterday.

Today, a “no confidence” motion by 11 BJP MLAs and two Independent members was “adopted” with deputy speaker T Norbu Thongdok, who is also a rebel Congressman, in the chair.

A total 33 members of the 60-member house, including 20 dissident Congress MLAs, later “elected” another dissident Congressman Kalikho Pul as the new “chief minister” of the state.

The CM Nabam Tuki and his 26 supporting MLAs boycotted the proceedings terming them as “illegal and unconstitutional”.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -