Friday, July 23, 2021
HomeNationRestrictions imposed in 5 police station areas of Srinagar

Restrictions imposed in 5 police station areas of Srinagar

Authorities on Friday imposed restrictions in parts of the city in the wake of apprehensions of trouble in the aftermath of killing of two Lashkar-e-Taiba terrorists in an encounter.

Restrictions have been imposed in five police station areas of Srinagar – the summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir, officials said.

They said restrictions under Section 144 of CrPC were imposed in Nowhatta, MR Gunj, Rainawari, Khanyar and Safakadal police station areas of the city.

The curbs were imposed as a precautionary measure to avoid any untoward incident, the officials said.

They said teaching activity has been suspended in many educational institutions across the valley as a precautionary measure.

Classwork has also been suspended in all colleges and higher secondary schools in Ganderbal, Anantnag, Pulwama and Shopian districts as well as many such institutions of higher learning in Baramulla district, the officials said.

Moderate Hurriyat Conference chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq has been put under house arrest at his residence in Nigeen here, the officials said.

Abu Ismail, along with his associate Abu Qasim, was killed in a brief encounter with security forces in Aribagh area of Nowgam on the outskirts of the city on Thursday.

Ismail was the mastermind of the July 10 attack on a bus carrying Amarnath pilgrims in south Kashmir’s Anantnag district, which left eight pilgrims dead.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -