Monday, August 2, 2021
HomeCity NewsModi magic still works

Modi magic still works

Mira Bhayander saffronised

The BJP swept Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation by winning 61 seats out of the 95 seats. The saffron party emerged as the clear winner as Shiv Sena and Congress won 22 seats and 10 seats respectively. On the other hand, NCP and MNS were unable to open their account. Despite the passage of three years BJP continues its winning streak in civic body polls. Thus Modi wave has not faded and people have reposed faith in his leadership. BJP has emerged as the single largest party in Mira-Bhayander. Shiv Sena nonetheless improved its tally from 15 to 22 seats. On the other hand, NCP had suffered a major setback as it was the second largest party in the previous civic body election. The exit of Gilbert Mendonca too has affected the party’s performance. Congress has lost 9 seats as compared to the 2012 civic body election. The magic number for securing a simple majority in the municipal body was 48 seats, which the BJP managed out do quite easily.

BJP MP Gopal Shetty said, “Today’s voters have become very active and knows which party they should vote for. For eg I would like to cite the example of Uttar Pradesh where initially people had voted for Mayawati. Later they elected Akhilesh Yadav and now we have formed government in UP. Political parties can’t take people for a ride as they want development. While campaigning for Mira-Bhayander civic body election, I had said that BJP will win more than 70 seats in the suburb. The result of MBMC has shown that people support Prime Minister Narendra Modi in centre and Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis in the state. Therefore we have won MBMC election.”

Shiv Sena MLA Pratap Sarnaik said, “I am satisfied that Sena has improved its performance. Our party has won seats in those constituencies where there is sizeable number of Marathi voters. I don’t want to comment about electronic voting machine tampering. BJP leaders had inducted Jain spiritual leaders to campaign for election which has enabled them to win more seats. It has become BJP’s strategy to field Jain spiritual leaders for campaigning which is unjustified.”

Sunil Tatkare, Senior NCP MLC said, “The manner in which BJP had split the wards there is possibility that they might have indulged in evm tampering. After the conclusion of election, local leaders were inspecting the machines. Gilbert Mendonca’s exit from NCP and horse trading is responsible for our defeat.”

Prasad Surve, MNS said, “I don’t think that electronic voting machine was  tampered. Since BJP is in power they could dominate the proceedings hence they have won election. MNS don’t have a sizeable presence in the suburb.”

Pramod Samant ex-Congress corporator and opposition leader from Mira Bhayander said, “I humbly accept my defeat but some malpractice has happened. Even though I had worked hard I could not win election.”

Shiv Sena winning candidate Deepti Bhatt said, “It is not possible for BJP to win the election as people are unaware about the candidates who have contested election from the party. According to me, electronic voting machines have been tampered. Those candidates who have worked hard have lost and new candidates have won election which is unfair.”

The BJP had fielded a total of 90 candidates, BJP’s alliance partner RPI (A) fought four seats, Sena 94, and Congress 10.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -