Placeholder canvas
Monday, October 2, 2023
HomeOpinionDiaryMuslim votes will be the deciding factor

Muslim votes will be the deciding factor

- Advertisement -

After the delimitation of the old Dahanu constituency the Bhiwandi constituency was formed which is ruled by the Congress. In this constituency the Shiv Sena, Bharatiya Janta Party and Shiv Sena has increased their foothold in rural area. Suresh Tawre, the sitting Member of Parliament was supposed to get re-nominated but the Congress has issued ticket to Vishwanath Patil. The BJP is yet to field their candidates from this constituency. AAP has nominated Jalaludin Ansari while Samajwadi Party will declare its candidate within few days. The MNS has fielded Sanjay Mhatre. Congress will have to face defeat if the Muslim community supports AAP or SP.

In the 2009, Lok Sabha election, the BJP had assured Shiv Sena of providing a seat from the Kalyan constituency. After the delimitation the Kalyan seat was allotted to Shiv Sena while the BJP planned to field candidates from Bhiwandi constituency. After getting new constituency BJP was unable to find a able candidate to contest election. Later the party issued ticket to Jagannath Patil a Dombivali resident but he had to suffer defeat by a margin of 40,000 votes at the hands of Congress candidate Suresh Tawre. In the 2009 Lok Sabha election, MNS candidate Devraj Mhatre had managed to secure more than lakh votes whereas Shiv Sena candidate Vishwanath Patil could only manage 70,796 votes. Since there are a sizeable number of Muslim voters in this constituency hence the party had taken a decision to field Muslim candidate. Mujhafar Hussain name came up for discussion but he is already a Member of Legislative Council. Since he was defeated in the assembly election hence he was denied a ticket by the party.

Jaganath Patil, former district president Madhukar Patil, former MLA Digambar Vishe, Omprakash Sharma, Ananta Bhoir, Bharat Patil are in fray to receive tickets from BJP. The major fight will occur between the BJP and Congress. The Bhiwandi rural, Shahpur, Murbad areas comprise a large chunk of voters belonging to Agri Kunbi and Tribal. Since voters belonging to Kunbi community support Congress hence there is a possibility that the party will win from this constituency.

Bhiwandi rural, Vishnu Savra (BJP), Shahpur, Daulat Daroda (Shiv Sena), Bhiwandi (W), Abdul Momin (SP), Bhiwandi (E), Rupesh Mhatre (Shiv Sena), Kalyan (W), Prakash Bhoir (MNS), Murbad- Kishan Kathore (NCP) are the assembly leaders from this constituency.

Statistics of 2009 Lok Sabha election-

Suresh Tawre, Congress – (1,82,789)
Jagganath Patil, BJP – (1,41,425)
Devraj Mhatre, MNS – (1,07,090)
Vishwanath Patil, Independent -(77,769)

Parvez Khan

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News