Placeholder canvas
Thursday, September 28, 2023
HomeOpinionDiaryNo cakewalk of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi

No cakewalk of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi

- Advertisement -

The Bahujan Vikas Aghadi has a stronghold in Palghar constituency and the party will re-nominate the sitting Member of Parliament Baliram Jadhav. For offering a tough competition to Jadhav, Congress fielded State Minister Rajendra Gavit. Even though the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi has an alliance with UPA at the state and centre but still they are pitted against each other. The party had requested Congress against fielding a candidate against them. Congress nonetheless turned a blind eye towards it. The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded sitting MLA Chintaman Banga from Vikramgad paving way for a triangular contest between these parties.

This constituency has lagged behind in development. Residents of this constituency are unhappy with Baliram Jadhav’s performance. Various developmental works like laying of pipeline gas, long distance vehicle halt, fisherman’s problems, Dahanu to Nashik rail link are yet to be completed. Baliram Jadhav had emerged victorious in the 2009 Lok Sabha election but he won’t be able to repeat this feat due to the anti-incumbency factor. BJP’s candidate Chintaman Vanga came second while Congress candidate Damodar Shingda came third followed by CPM candidate Lahanu Kom.

There is a sizeable number of people belonging to the tribal community in this constituency. Since the state government had worked for the welfare of tribal community hence the party expects to put up a better show in this constituency. Chintaman Vanga is confident that he will emerge victorious from this constituency on account of Modi wave. Bali Jadhav is confident of winning election once again due to his clean image among people.

Bahujan Vikas Aghadi is confident of putting up a better show in this Lok Sabha election. Jadhav won’t be able to win election this time due to his poor performance.

Rajaram Nathu Ozhare – Dahanu (Communist Party of India, Marxist), Chintaman Wamne – Vikramgad (Bharatiya Janata Party), Rajendra Gavit- Palghar (Congress), Vilash Sukur- Boisar (Bahujan Vikas Aghadi), Kshitij Thakur – Nallasopara (Bahujan Vikash Aghadi), Vivek Pandit- Vasai (Independent) are the assembly leaders belonging to this constituency. Amongst these two candidates belong to Bahujan Vikas Aghadi, BJP, Congress, CPI and independent have one each.

2009 Lok Sabha statistics

Baliram Jadhav (Bahujan Vikas Aghadi) 2,23,234
Chintaman Vanga (BJP) – 2,10,847
Damodar Shingda (Congress) – 1,60,570
Lahanu Kom (CPI) – 92,224

Parvez Khan

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News