Saturday, June 19, 2021
HomeOpinionDiaryPrakash Ambedkar will have to form alliance with Congress

Prakash Ambedkar will have to form alliance with Congress

Since 1991, the Bharatiya Janata Party is having a strong foothold over the Akola constituency. If the Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh doesn’t form an alliance with the Congress from this constituency then Prakash Ambedkar might have to face defeat. If the Congress nominates their candidates still Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh will have to work along with them.

Six assembly seats exists in the Akola constituency viz Akot, Balapur, Akola (E), Akola (W) and Murtijapur. The Congress has failed to get elected from this constituency since 1991. The performance of Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh too was not good from this constituency. The BJP has sweeped polls in the year 1991, 1996, 2004 and 2009 respectively from this constituency. BJP candidate Pandurang Fundkar had won the election in 1991,1996, 2004 and 2006. Sanjay Dhotre from BJP had won election in the year 2009. He had become an MLA prior to becoming an MP. He is an educated person and also had won the confidence of the people. While Prakash Ambedkar led Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh emerged victorious in 1998 and 1999.

Prakash Ambedkar has been contesting polls from the Akola constituency since 1989. The Congress used to secure third place. The Congress had invited Prakash Ambedkar to form an alliance to contest the 2014 Lok Sabha election. However, Ambedkar didn’t respond to the letter sent by Congress and instead fielded his own candidate.

Therefore, the Congress fielded Muslim candidate Hidayat Patel against Ambedkar. Since there is sizeable number of Muslim population in this  constituency hence votes will swing in favour of Congress and Ambedkar might have to face defeat. Traditionally, Muslims have voted in favour of Congress in Akola constituency. There is less possibility of Hidayat Patel and Prakash Ambedkar to win election from this constituency. Prakash Ambedkar will have to form alliance with Congress if he wants to emerge victorious from Akola.


2009  Lok Sabha election statistics

Sanjay Dhotre BJP – 2,89,526

Prakash Ambedkar – BRP- 2,22,678

Babasaheb Dhabekar – 1, 82,776


Parvez Khan

Most Popular

- Advertisment -