Placeholder canvas
Monday, February 26, 2024
HomeEditorialThe BJP created history in Gujarat with a landslide victory

The BJP created history in Gujarat with a landslide victory

- Advertisement -
Bupendra Patel
Gujarat CM Bupendra Patel

 In the recent Gujarat elections there were a lot of speculations that due to AAP’s entry in Gujarat the political equations may change.  The elections just concluded giving a huge mandate to BJP. The saffron party bagged a massive 156 seats in the 182-member Legislative Assembly. This is the BJP’s seventh consecutive victory in Gujarat and also the biggest since 1960. Bhupendra Patel took oath as the chief minister of Gujarat for a second straight term in Gandhinagar in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other dignitaries.

Patel was administered the oath as the 18th chief minister by Governor Acharya Devvrat at a function held at the Helipad Ground near the new Secretariat. Kunvarji Bavaliya, Mulubhai Bera, Kuber Dindor and Bhanuben Babariya were among 16 other MLAs who took oath as ministers.  In the just-concluded Gujarat assembly election, counting for which was held on December 8, the BJP won a seventh straight term by winning a record 156 seats in the 182-member House. The Congress won 17 constituencies and AAP 5. Patel, 60, resigned as chief minister along with his entire cabinet on Friday to pave the way for the formation of a new government following the election results.

Bhupendra Patel has been sworn in for a second term as the Chief Minister of Gujarat, following the BJP’s seventh consecutive victory in the state’s Legislative Assembly elections. Patel, 60, first took the oath in September 2021 as the CM, replacing Vijay Rupani. More recently, he was elected as the leader of the BJP legislative party on Saturday, following which he met the governor and staked the claim to form the next government. He won the Ghatlodia seat, part of the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency, with the highest margin of 1.92 lakh votes in the elections.

In the new 17-member Bhupendra Patel BJP cabinet that was sworn in today, there are seven OBC ministers ; four Patidars; two from the Scheduled Tribe Community, and one each from the Scheduled Caste, Brahmin, Jain and Rajput communities.

Bhupendra Rajnikant Patel started his political career in municipal bodies of Ahmedabad before being elected the member of Gujarat Legislative Assembly representing Ghatlodia constituency in 2017. He is a builder by profession. He is a trustee of Sardardham Vishwa Patidar Kendra and a chairman of the standing committee of Vishwa Umiya Foundation. He is a follower of Akram Vignan Movement founded by Dada Bhagwan. He is interested in cricket and badminton.

Patel was the member of Memnagar Nagarpalika in 1995–1996, 1999-2000 and 2004–2006. He was the President of Memnagar Nagarpalika in 1999–2000. He was a Vice Chairman of the school board of Amdavad Municipal Corporation (AMC) from 2008 to 2010. He was a councillor from Thaltej Ward from 2010 to 2015. He was a chairman of the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA) from 2015 to 2017. He also served as a chairman of the Standing Committee of AMC.

Patel became a member of Gujarat Legislative Assembly for the Ghatlodia constituency after winning the 2017 Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections, running against Shashikant Patel of the Indian National Congress. He won by a record margin of 1,17,000 votes.]He was elected again from Ghatlodia constituency in the 2022 Gujarat Legislative Assembly election as a BJP candidate defeating his nearest rival and Indian National Congress candidate Amiben Yagnik.

On 11 September 2021, Vijay Rupani resigned from the post of Chief Minister of Gujarat. Patel was unanimously elected as the BJP legislative party leader and Chief Minister elect of Gujarat on 12 September 2021 in the party legislature meeting at Gandhinagar. He was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on 13 September 2021.

On 8 February 2022, he launched a new Gujarat IT/ITeS policy 2022-2027. His government also became the first state to set up a committee to study modalities and implementation of Uniform Civil Code in the state, applying the same to the citizens of the state. In the 2022 Gujarat Legislative Assembly Elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party won a record-breaking 156 of the total 182 seats, with the party forming the state government for the 7th consecutive time. On 12 December 2022, Patel took oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat, for the second time with this massive win

Praful Panseriya (Patidar- leuva Patel), who hailed from Saurashtra and settled in Surat runs media publicity business, and real estate. Panseriya has been associated with BJP for a long time. He was earlier municipal councillor from Kamrej, and later he contested assembly election from Kamrej seat in 2012 and turned up victorious. IN 2017 elections he was denied a ticket and on his seat, BJP leaders gave the ticket to V D Zhalavadiya, who turned out to be the winner. Even after denial of ticket, Panseriya remained active in the party activities.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Vaidehi Taman
Vaidehi Taman
Vaidehi Taman an Accredited Journalist from Maharashtra is bestowed with three Honourary Doctorate in Journalism. Vaidehi has been an active journalist for the past 21 years, and is also the founding editor of an English daily tabloid – Afternoon Voice, a Marathi web portal – Mumbai Manoos, and The Democracy digital video news portal is her brain child. Vaidehi has three books in her name, "Sikhism vs Sickism", "Life Beyond Complications" and "Vedanti". She is an EC Council Certified Ethical Hacker, OSCP offensive securities, Certified Security Analyst and Licensed Penetration Tester that caters to her freelance jobs.
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News