Placeholder canvas
Sunday, September 24, 2023
HomeOpinionDiaryTriangular contest in Maval constituency

Triangular contest in Maval constituency

- Advertisement -

Maval constituency will witness a triangular fight between Shiv Sena, Shetkari Kamgar Sanghtana (SKS) and NCP. All three candidates have quit their respective parties to join the opposition party. Sitting MP Gajanan Babar turned rebel against his own party hence ticket was not issued to him. Babar quit Shiv Sena as the party had fielded Shrirang Barne. Issuing ticket to Barne will affect Sena’s electoral prospects. Rahul Narvekar had quit Shiv Sena to join NCP and the party has nominated him from this constituency.

There was delimitation of the Raigad constituency before the 2009 Lok Sabha election. Post delimitation a new parliamentary constituency known as Mawal was created which comprises Panvel, Uran, Karjat-Khalapur, Pimpri, Chinchad and Mawal. In the last Lok Sabha election Shiv Sena candidate Gajanan Babar and NCP candidate Azam Pansare contested election from this constituency. This time, SKS has not fielded their candidate and is supporting Shiv Sena.

Shiv Sena MP Babar has done a substandard work in this constituency. This constituency is known to be the bastion of NCP as they have control in Zilla Parishad and Panchayat Samiti. Despite this, the Shiv Sena MP has been elected from this constituency. Pimpri-Chinchwada residents had demanded for a train from Mumbai to Lonawala. However, Babar has not worked for the welfare of people hence they are miffed with him. As a result of this he was denied ticket by the Shiv Sena. The party nominated Shrirang Barne as Babar quit the party.

Laxman Jagtap was likely to contest election from the NCP-Congress alliance from Chinchwad. Since Jagtap failed to curb illegal construction prevailing in his constituency hence he was denied a ticket by the party. SKS leader Jayant Patil has now backed Jagtap. On 14th March Jagtap joined SKS. Since Ajit Pawar is secretly backing Jagtap so nobody is keen to contest from this constituency. Finally Narvekar had quit Shiv Sena and he will contest election from this constituency. Therefore, NCP will leave no stone unturned to ensure his victory from this constituency.

2009 Lok Sabha statistics

Gajanan Babar – 3,64,857
Azam Pansare – 2,84,238

Parvez Khan

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News