Placeholder canvas
Thursday, September 28, 2023
HomeOpinionDiaryTriangular fight for Mumbai North-West constituency

Triangular fight for Mumbai North-West constituency

- Advertisement -

The Congress party fielded Member of Parliament Gurudas Kamat from Mumbai North-West constituency for contesting the upcoming Lok Sabha election. The MNS not declared their candidate for this constituency. Shiv Sena had fielded its Gajanan Kirtikar once again but he was defeated in 2009 Lok Sabha election. Aam Aadmi Party has allotted a seat to Mayank Gandhi. This time a cut throat completion will exist between all the four parties. If MNS fields strong candidate from the Mumbai North-West then it will make Kamat’s task easier. Since Kamat had performed better work in his constituency, he will prove to be a tough competitor for Shiv Sena’s Gajanan Kirtikar.

Kamat was alloted a seat in the 2009 Lok Sabha election but party members were unhappy with his nomination. After securing 2,53,899 votes Kamat defeated Gajanan Kirtikar who had secured 2,15,484 votes, whereas MNS candidate Shalini Thackeray secured 1,23,000 votes. AAP leader Mayank Gandhi will be contesting election from this constituency. If Mayank Gandhi secures more votes then it will have an adverse impact on Kamat’s performance.

The Mumbai North-West Lok Sabha constituency is regarded as the Congress bastion. Prior to the 2009 general election Sunil Dutt had a strong foothold over areas like Andheri (W), Andheri (E), Versova and Jogeshwari. Sunil Dutt had defeated the Shiv Sena candidate Madukar Sarpotdar by a margin of 85,539 votes in the 1999 Lok Sabha election. During that period, the NCP didn’t have an alliance with the Congress. Shiv Sena had fielded Sanjay Nirupam against Sunil Dutt in the 2004 Lok Sabha election as the former lost election by 87,000 votes. After Dutt’s demise, his daughter Priya Dutt was issued a ticket to contest election from this constituency. She defeated Shiv Sena candidate Sarpotdar by a margin of 1,72,000. After the delimitation excercise carried out in 2009 Andheri (E), Andheri (W), Jogeshwari, Versova and two more areas of Dindoshi and Goregaon have been included in the Mumbai North-West constituency.

Kamat defeated Shiv Sena candidate Gajanan Kirtikar in the 2009 Lok Sabha election despite the prevalence of infighting within the party. Since Kamat is close to Sonia Gandhi he will be issued a ticket from the same constituency. He has already started campaigning from his constituency. The MNS is likely to field Sachin Pilgoakar from the Mumbai North West constituency. If AAP comes up with a good performance then it will create troubles for Kamat.

Six assemblies exist in the Mumbai North-West constituency. The sitting MLAs from this constituency include Ravindra Waikar Shiv Sena, MLA from Jogeshwari, Suresh Shetty, Congress MLA from Andheri (E), Rajhans Singh Congress, MLA from Dindoshi, Subash Desai, Shiv Sena MLA from Goregoan, Ashok Jadhav Congress MLA from Andheri (W), Baldev Khosla Congress, MLA from Versova.

Performance of candidates in the 2009 Lok Sabha election

Gurudas Kamat- 2,53,899
Gajanan Kirtikar – 2,15,484
Shalini Thackeray- 1,23,000

Parvez Khan

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News