Friday, June 25, 2021
HomeSportsVidarbha rout AP, TN beat Hyderabad in Vijay Hazare Trophy match

Vidarbha rout AP, TN beat Hyderabad in Vijay Hazare Trophy match

Umesh YadavPace spearhead Umesh Yadav led a supreme bowling charge as Vidarbha shot out Andhra Pradesh for 87 runs to win their Group C league match by 10 wickets on Thursday.

Electing to field at the Palam B Ground, Model Sports Complex, Vidarbha bowlers justified the think-tank’s decision to pack the Andhra side in 25.3 overs.

Sharing the new ball with Umesh, left-arm pacer Shrikant Wagh trapped opener Koripalli Sreekanth for nought to start the batting rot.
Umesh soon joined in the party with three scalps as left-arm spinner Akshay Karnewar, who wiped off the tail in double quick time, managed to be the destroyer-in-chief.

Skipper Prasanth Kumar top-scored a valiant 38, but the rest of the batting fell like a pack of cards.

Brief scores: Andhra Pradesh 87 all in 25.3 overs (Prasanth Kumar 38, Kuppu Ganesh Kumar 17; Akshay Karnewar 4/13, Umesh Yadav 3/16); Vidarbha 91/0 in 19.2 overs (Jitesh Sharma 47 not out, Faiz Fazal 44 not out; Siva Kumar 0/13); Points: Vidarbha 4, Andhra Pradesh 0.

TN win as Agarwal’s ton goes in vain

In Hyderabad, Hyderabad batsman Tanmay Agarwal’s belligerent ton went in vain as the hosts went down against Tamil Nadu by three wickets in their Group A match on Thursday.

Put into bat, the Hanuma Vihari-led Hyderabad rode on Agarwal’s 96-ball 105 to manage 230 all out in 49.2 overs.

Laxmipathy Balaji bagged three wickets, while Rajagopal Satish, skipper Ravichandran Ashwin and Vijay Shankar picked two wickets each.

Chasing a respectable score, the Tamil Nadu top and middle order made a concerted effort to help chase down the target in 47.5 overs.

Baba Aparajith top-scored with 55 runs as Murali Vijay contributed with a fighting 44, but most of the TN batsmen failed to convert their good starts into bigger scores.

Brief scores: Hyderabad 230 all out in 49.2 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 105, Danny Derek Prince 31; Laxmipathy Balaji 3/33);
Tamil Nadu 233/7 in 47.5 overs (Baba Aparajith 55, Murali Vijay 44; Ravi Kiran 2/51); Points: Tamil Nadu 4, Hyderabad 0.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -