Tuesday, September 28, 2021
HomeSportsWas Virat Kohli robbed of catch due to TV umpiring error?

Was Virat Kohli robbed of catch due to TV umpiring error?

The Indian team was left disappointed after TV replays did not magnify image of Virat Kohli’s catch off Tamim Iqbal’s shot.

The incident took place in the 2nd over of the Bangladesh innings after the left-hander drove Dhawal Kulkarni to mid-off.

Virat lunged forward, completed the catch and began to celebrate. However, Tamim batting on naught at the time, stayed on.

Local umpire Sharfuddoula discussed the incident with square-leg umpire Rod Tucker

The duo then conveyed to the to TV umpire Anisur Rahman that they felt Tamim was not out and the ball had bounced just before landing into Kohli’s hands.

Post several replays, the TV umpire gave the decision in favor of the batsman.

Kulkarni, Kohli and rest of the Indian players were clearly upset with the decision

Virat went up to the umpire and even had a word with him.

The decision left several experts baffled as well.

Since TV replays are equipped with a ‘magnified’ vision to get the most clear frame of such incidents, it was surprising that such a version of Kohli’s catch was not shown.

There is a direct broadcast feed inside the players dressing room. On viewing the incident, Team India analysts felt the catch was clean and that Tamim should have been given out.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]