Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeCity NewsMaharashtra Polls: Seat-Sharing Talks Heat Up in Maha Vikas Aghadi Alliance

Maharashtra Polls: Seat-Sharing Talks Heat Up in Maha Vikas Aghadi Alliance

As Maharashtra assembly elections approach, key alliances like the Maha Vikas Aghadi are deep in discussions over seat-sharing. Congress, NCP-SP, and Shiv Sena (UBT) leaders recently examined their electoral strategies. Meanwhile, BJP has firmed its election roadmap with Mahayuti partners, aiming for robust electoral performance.

- Advertisement -

As the Maharashtra assembly elections approach, the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance is actively deliberating seat-sharing arrangements. This coalition, comprising Congress, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)-SP, and Shiv Sena (UBT), is strategizing to field candidates for the 288-member Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

Key leaders from Congress, the NCP-SP, and the Shiv Sena (UBT) convened for a crucial meeting on Tuesday to finalise the seat-sharing formula. Sources indicate Congress may contest 120–130 seats, Shiv Sena (UBT) 90–100 seats, and NCP-SP approximately 75–80 seats in the upcoming elections.

The Maharashtra Congress Unit is set to conduct a two-day meeting starting today to fine-tune its seat-sharing strategy. Concurrently, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has declared its intent to contest the elections in alliance with its Mahayuti partners, mapping out a detailed electoral strategy during a core committee meeting on June 29.

BJP state president Ashish Shelar confirmed that no structural changes would be made within the party’s state unit, emphasising the approval of Maharashtra’s recent budget, which benefits various social segments, including farmers, youth, and women.

The recent Lok Sabha polls provided a morale boost to the MVA, with Shiv Sena (UBT) securing seven seats, Congress 13, and NCP-SP one, totaling 17 seats for the alliance, while the BJP’s tally dipped to nine seats from its previous 23 in 2019. Their vote share is recorded at 26.18 percent.

Recalling the 2019 assembly elections, the BJP and the then unified Shiv Sena contested together, winning 105 and 56 seats, respectively. The undivided NCP and Congress had secured 54 and 44 seats, respectively.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News