Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeNationRR Nagar polls: Congress wins by 41,162 votes

RR Nagar polls: Congress wins by 41,162 votes

- Advertisement -

Congress AV

In yet another major setback for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Karnataka, Congress candidate Munirathna won from the Rajarajeshwari Nagar (RR Nagar) assembly constituency here by 41,162 votes on Thursday.

Munirathna was contesting against GH Ramachandra of JD(S) and Tulasi Muniraju Gowda of BJP.

Congress took a marginal lead as soon as the counting of votes began, amid tight security earlier in the day.

Nearly 53 per cent voter turnout was recorded in RR Nagar across 471 polling stations on May 28.

The constituency was scheduled to go to polls on May 12 along with the other 222 constituencies of Karnataka but was postponed due to reports of an alleged fake voter ID scam.

In the run-up to the Karnataka assembly polls, 9,746 voter ID cards were found from a flat in SLV Park View Apartment in Bengaluru’s Jalahalli locality by Election Commission (EC) officials on May 8.

Thereafter, a political slugfest broke out between the Congress and BJP, both accusing each other of being involved in the scam.

The Election Commission (EC) subsequently countermanded the polling in the constituency.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News