Monday, May 29, 2023
HomeNationUddhav Thackeray files nomination for Maharashtra Legislative Council

Uddhav Thackeray files nomination for Maharashtra Legislative Council

- Advertisement -

Uddhav Thackeray, Nomination, MLC, Uddhav, Chief Minister of Maharashtra, CM of Maharashtra, ElectionsMaharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and four other candidates from the ruling alliance filed their nominations at the Vidhan Bhavan on Monday for the May 21 MLC polls.

The CM was accompanied by wife Rashmi, sons Aaditya and Tejas Thackeray and other senior leaders from the Maha Vikas Agadi.

The last day of filing nomination is May 11, scrutiny of nominations will take place on May 12 and the last date of withdrawal of papers is May 14.

Thackeray, who is currently not a member of either of the Houses of the state Legislature, submitted his nomination papers to the election officer.

Uddhav is all set to be elected unopposed as the MLC after Congress on Sunday announced that it would withdraw one of its two nominees for the May 21 elections on the nine seats.

This was in contrast with Saturday’s development when Maharashtra Congress chief Balasaheb Thorat had announced on Twitter that Rajkishore alias Papa Modi will be party’s second candidate besides Rajesh Rathod, a Jalna zilla parishad member whose name was announced from Delhi. Thorat said he was confident that both will win.

The 288-member Maharashtra Assembly forms electoral college for the polls, and a candidate needs 29 votes to win. The Congress has 44 MLAs.

The Shiv Sena and NCP, other two ruling alliance partners, have so far announced two candidates each, while the opposition BJP has announced four candidates.

Thackeray and incumbent deputy Chairperson of the Legislative Council Neelam Gorhe are the nominees of the Sena while Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari are the candidates of the NCP.

Former NCP MP Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Praveen Datke and Ajit Gopchhade are the nominees of the BJP, which has the highest 105 MLAs. The BJP nominees filed their nominations on May 8.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News