Friday, September 17, 2021
HomeSportsAnurag Thakur set to be new BCCI president

Anurag Thakur set to be new BCCI president

BJP MP Anurag Thakur is all set to be the new president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as he has got the unanimous backing of all six east zone association for Indian Cricket’s top job.

Anurag Thakur-AV

Thakur, who is presently BCCI secretary also, will replace Shashank Manohar, who resigned from board presidentship recently and has since been elected the chief of International Cricket Council.

It was East Zone’s turn to nominate the president and efforts were being made by the Thakur camp to make him the unanimous candidate to avoid an election, reports say.

All six associations including Cricket Association of Bengal, Jharkhand Cricket Association, Orissa Cricket Association, National Cricket Club of Kolkata, Assam Cricket Association and Tripura Cricket Association have nominated Thakur as their candidate, according to The Indian Express.

“All six association in East Zone has agreed to nominate Thakur for president post. We have sent out nomination form to him few days ago,” Assam Cricket Association Gautam Roy told Indian Express.

Meanwhile, Ajay Shirke is expected to be replace Thakur for secretary post.

Manohar  resigned from ICC chairman’s post as he was a BCCI representative at the apex body and resignation in country’s board effectively means that he does not stay as ICC’s chairman. His tenure was supposed to end in June, 2016, after which he was set to take over as the first independent chairman of ICC.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]