Tuesday, September 21, 2021
HomeBusinessDas, two other top bureaucrats in race for Sebi chief post

Das, two other top bureaucrats in race for Sebi chief post

Three senior bureaucrats, including Economic Affairs Secretary Shaktikanta Das, are believed to be in contention for the post of capital market regulator Sebi chairman after the extended tenure of incumbent U K Sinha ends early next year.

The process for choosing the next chief of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Sebi) started in September and the government has received many applications. The current tenure of Sinha, who has been at the helm of the watchdog since February 2011, ends on March 1 next year.

Sources said three senior bureaucrats are among the contenders for the post. Apart from Das, Power Secretary P K Pujari and Additional Secretary in the finance ministry Ajay Tyagi are also in contention, they added.

Das, who is a key figure in the government’s economic policy-making decisions, including handling the issues related to demonetisation of high-value currencies, is already on the Sebi board as a government nominee. A senior civil servant, Das is from Tamil Nadu cadre. He is also on the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) board.

Tyagi, Additional Secretary (Investment) in the Department of Economic Affairs, handles capital market, among other areas. An IAS officer from Himachal Pradesh, Tyagi, for a short while was also on the RBI board. Pujari, a Gujarat-cadre IAS officer, is the Power Secretary.

He has served in various roles, including in the ministries of agriculture and finance. A final decision will be taken by the government after taking into consideration the recommendations of the Financial Sector Regulatory Appointments Search Committee (FSRASC), which has conducted the interviews and short-listed the candidates, sources said.

Generally, the chairman of Sebi is appointed for five years or up to the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. The person would also be eligible for re-appointment. Sinha took charge as Sebi Chairman on February 18, 2011, and was initially appointed for a 3-year term. Later, he was given a two-year extension.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]