Saturday, September 25, 2021
HomeSportsIndia's first 5-a-side Senior Hockey National Championships tomorrow

India’s first 5-a-side Senior Hockey National Championships tomorrow


Pune: The first Hockey India 5-a-side Senior Hockey National Championship will be held at the Shiv Chattrapati Sports Complex in Pune from October 26 to October 30.

This explosive short format for field hockey played on a half-regulation size hockey pitch, is seen as an innovative format for the future development and growth of the sport worldwide. The objective of Hockey 5’s is to allow flexibility so that it can be played on any surface, on different sized pitches.

The format differs from field hockey in some key areas. The size of the court is 38.5m x 22.5m. The game is split into three periods of 10 minutes, with a three-minute break between the periods. Every team is allowed a total of 9 players which includes one goal keeper. Players cannot hit the ball, and instead have to push, scoop or flick it to move it around.

Hosted by Hockey Maharashtra, the championship will have eight teams including Association of Indian Universities, Hockey Haryana, Hockey Odisha, Hockey Jharkhand, Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Karnataka, Hockey Punjab and Uttar Pradesh Hockey.

Several veteran players as well as future stars are going to turn out for the event for their various teams. Some of the key players in the Men’s tournament are, Nithin Thimmaiah and Pradhan Somanna (Hockey Karnataka), Yuvraj Walmiki, Vikram Pillay, Adrian D’Souza and Amit Gowda (Hockey Maharashtra), Pankaj Kumar Rajak and Nilam Sanjeep Xess (Hockey Odisha), Harpal Singh, Bharat and Mandeep Antil (Hockey Haryana).

In the wo men’s side JWC 2013 bronze medallist Sanarik Chanu will be playing for Hockey Maharashtra

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]