Placeholder canvas
Thursday, December 7, 2023
HomeUncategorizedPakistan, India Agree To Play Six Cricket Series Between 2015-2023

Pakistan, India Agree To Play Six Cricket Series Between 2015-2023

- Advertisement -

Pakistan on Wednesday said it had agreed to play a total of six cricket series against India from 2015 to 2023, the first since the 2008 Mumbai terrorist attacks suspended play between the teams.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said it had signed an MoU with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to play the six series.

A PCB official said the first series could be held in the United Arab Emirates next year, with Pakistan hosting India for two tests, three ODIs and two T20 matches.

“A total of 14 tests, 30 ODIs and 12 T20 matches would be part of these six series,” chief operating officer Subhan Ahmad said.

Since 2007, the BCCI has not played a proper bilateral Test series with Pakistan due to political and other reasons, particularly after the Mumbai terror attacks in 2008.

India suspended all series with Pakistan after the 2008 attacks, which New Delhi blamed on militants based across the border.

The two countries played one short series of three ODIs and two T20 matches in India in December 2012 but otherwise they have met only in ICC organised events or the Asia Cup.

The official also stated that efforts were underway to sign formal agreements with the BCCI that in cases when series are held as part of the Future Tour Programmes, some compensation can be made available to the host country.

“This MoU is part of our conditional support we have agreed to give to the recent governance and other changes in the ICC led by India, England and Australia,” another official confirmed.

He added six of the four expected series in the next eight years would be hosted by Pakistan either at home or at neutral venues.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News