Sunday, September 19, 2021
HomeSportsHockey India recommends Manpreet, Savita for Arjuna Award

Hockey India recommends Manpreet, Savita for Arjuna Award

Manpreet SinghMidfielder Manpreet Singh, who led India’s men’s hockey team at last month’s Commonwealth Games, was among the three players recommended for this year’s Arjuna Award by the national federation.

Another experienced midfielder Dharamvir Singh and Indian women’s team goalkeeper Savita Punia have also been recommended for the Arjuna Award.

“Sanggai Ibemhal Chanu and former men’s captain Bharat Chettri have been recommended for the Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games,” Hockey India said in a statement.

Hockey India also recommended coach B.S. Chauhan for the Dronacharya Award.

Speaking on the recommendations, Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad, secretary general, Hockey India, said, “They have proven their worth with significant performances that has elevated the Indian team to new heights.

“They have donned the India colours with pride and have given it their all to help the team win several accolades within the country and internationally. We at Hockey India are proud of their achievements and are happy to recommend their names for the national awards,” he added.

Dharamvir formed the midfield of the Indian team and was part of the gold medal feat at the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon, Korea. He was also part of the Indian team that participated in the 2012 London Olympics and has also represented the country at the 2014 World Cup in the Netherlands.

Manpreet, on the other hand, captained the Indian team in the absence of P.R. Sreejesh who was injured last year. Manpreet was part of the Asia Cup win where India beat Malaysia to lift the title.

He also led the Indian team to a bronze medal at the World League Final last year. With over 200 international caps, Manpreet was part of the team that participated at the 2012 and 2016 Olympic Games.

Savita was instrumental in India’s historic Asia Cup win last year where she made a stunning save in the penalty shootout that helped the team beat higher-ranked China in the final.

Her performance was critical in helping India qualify for the World Cup as continental champions after a gap of 13 years. Savita was part of the team that qualified for the Olympics after 36 years.

She was a member of the team that won the Asian Champions Trophy in 2016.

Former India player Sanggai Ibemhal Chanu, recommended for the Lifetime Achievement Award, was part of the team that won the 2002 Commonwealth Games gold in Manchester followed by a silver in 2006, Melbourne.

In an international career spanning over a decade, Chanu has represented the country twice at the World Cup in 1998 and 2006.

Bharat Chettri, former India goalkeeper and captain, led the team in 2012 London Olympics. He was part of the team that won silver at the 2010 Commonwealth Games and the bronze at the 2010 Asian Games. Currently, he is mentoring the goalkeepers of both the men’s and women’s team.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]