Friday, September 24, 2021
HomeSportsIndia claim top spot in ICC T20 rankings after clinching Asia Cup

India claim top spot in ICC T20 rankings after clinching Asia Cup

India on Monday sealed the numero uno spot in the ICC Twenty20 rankings after Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s side won the Asia Cup in Mirpur and will now enter the World T20 as the top team.


India clinched the Asia Cup trophy after beating hosts Bangladesh by eight wickets in Mirpur on Sunday night and strengthened their reputation as a strong title contender for the upcoming ICC World Twenty20.

In Johannesburg, Australia had chased down South Africa’s 204 to level the three-match T20 series 1-1 on Sunday.

But irrespective of which side now wins the series in Cape Town on Wednesday, it will not be enough to dislodge India from the
top pedestal.

Hence, hosts India will enter the World T20 as the number-one ranked side.

India, who won the inaugural event in South Africa and finished runner-up in Bangladesh two years ago, are on 127 points, nine clear of 2012 winner West Indies and South Africa, who are on equal points (118).

In the T20 batting table, India’s Virat Kohli is placed second, followed by Rohit Sharma (11th), Suresh Raina (16th), Yuvraj Singh (22nd), Dhoni (43rd) and Shikhar Dhawan (48th).

In the absence of Sunil Narine of West Indies, second-ranked Ravichandran Ashwin will start as the highest-ranked bowler in the tournament, while Ravindra Jadeja is 11th, Jasprit Bumrah is 27th and Yuvraj is 43rd.

Yuvraj is also India’s highest-ranked all-rounder in sixth position.

New Zealand are fourth on 116, followed by 2010 winner England in fifth, 2010 losing finalist Australia in sixth, 2009 champion Pakistan in seventh and defending champions Sri Lanka in eighth.

The sixth edition of the tournament, to be held in India for the first time, will start tomorrow with 13th-ranked Zimbabwe taking on 14th-ranked Hong Kong in Nagpur, which will be followed by the match between ninth-ranked Afghanistan and 11th-ranked Scotland.

The second round will kick off on March 15, also in Nagpur, when India go head to head with New Zealand.

The final will be played at Eden Gardens on April 3.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]