Sunday, September 19, 2021
HomeOpinionLettersJayalalithaa scripts history

Jayalalithaa scripts history

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam Chief J Jayalalithaa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for a second consecutive term. Tamil Nadu Governor K Rosaiah administered the oath of office to Jayalalithaa and her 28 ministers in a ceremony held at the Centenary Auditorium of the Madras University and it is the sixth time she was sworn in as the CM and second time in succession. Acting on her polls promise regarding prohibition, Jayalalithaa is expected to close 500 retail liquor shops in the state. She also ordered waiver of crop loans for Tamil Nadu farmers a giant leap of all her promises.  J. Jayalalithaa is the first Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu to be re-elected in 32 years. The last was AIADMK’s MG Ramachandran, in 1984. In the elections that were held in May, her party got 134 seats in the 232-seat state Assembly. The state recorded a voter turnout of 74.2 per cent in the elections and the results were declared on May 19. Though exit polls had predicted a win for Opposition party Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, the latter only managed to get 98 seats. The state has swung between the DMK and incumbent AIADMK since 1972, a trend that pointed to the AIADMK’s loss this time. It is one more feather in Jayalalithaa’s cap in the long and illustrious career in the political field.

(The views expressed by the author in the article are his/her own.)

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]