Sunday, September 19, 2021

Kohli erred

Virat Kohli conceded that Mohammad Amir’s four-over burst in the Asia Cup T20 was one of the most challenging spells of fast bowling he had faced, and added that his match-winning knock of 49 against the arch rivals was a great learning curve for him as a batsman. However, his success as a batsman had gone into his head and showed resentment of his LBW decision infront of the camera umpires and Match Referee. Kohli has been fined 30 per cent of his match fee for showing dissent at the umpire after being adjudged LBW during his side’s win in the Asia cup group match. The incident happened in the 15th over of India’s innings when Kohli, after being given out leg before, displayed dissent by first showing his bat and then leaving the crease while looking back at the umpire and uttering some words that were contrary to the spirit of the game. The player was found to have breached Article 2.1.5 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel. Kohli admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Jeff Crowe of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. As such, there was no need for a formal hearing.


Nickhil Mani

(The views expressed by the author in the article are his/her own.)

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]