Thursday, June 24, 2021
HomeOpinionLettersNumber game in IPL 9

Number game in IPL 9

The crowning glory of the IPL season just concluded is that a new team emerged as Champions and it speaks volume of the competition ahead in the coming years.  The tall score in the final and a futile chase all saw entertaining cricket. The number game is becoming highly interesting in the shortest form of the game with thrills all round. The player of the series Virat Kohli did bulk of the scoring and made sure that he finished at the top of the runs table. Virat hitting 38 sixes topped the run aggregate of IPL 9 season. In all Kohli knocked 973 runs out of the 2981 runs scored by Royal Challengers Bangalore.  In all, the tantalizing game of T-20 cricket saw 18862 runs were scored and that reveals how he dominated the scene with 32.6% of the runs scored by his team. Kohli’s four hundreds also showed the domination he enjoyed over the poor bowlers. Both AB de Villiers and Chris Morris hit dozen sixes each to top the table of sixes in an innings.  We have witnessed runs galore in this IPL 9 season. David Warner hit nine fifties and the crucial one in the final ensured an emphatic win. In all he hit 88 fours to show his stamp of class. But it was the blue eyed boy Bhuvaneshwar Kumar who stole the limelight as the star bowler with variation of both inswing and outswing in a brilliant spell of bowling spelt doom and help Sunrisers Hyderbad to win it maiden IPL Championship in style.

Nickhil Mani

(The views expressed by the author in the article are his/her own.)

Most Popular

- Advertisment -