Saturday, June 12, 2021
HomeSportsUP Strikers lift Indian Wheelchair Cricket League trophy

UP Strikers lift Indian Wheelchair Cricket League trophy

UP Strikers trounced Delhi Sultans by four runs to win Indian Wheelchair Cricket League 2018.

The league concluded at Lancers International School in Gurugram on Sunday.

After winning the toss, Delhi Sultans elected to bowl first.

UP Strikers put up a formidable score of 96 runs at a loss of five wickets. Batsman Anmol Vashisht put up a scintillating performance as he smashed 56 runs off just 59 balls.

In response, Delhi Sultans were restricted to 92 runs in 16.3 overs.

Anmol Vashisht was adjudged `Man of the Match` as well as `Man of the Series` for his brilliant performance with the bat.

Reflecting on the win, Vashisht said, “It was a closely contested match in which we put up a good show and emerged as winners. I would like to thank Para Sports Foundation who conceptualized this novel concept. I hope the organisation continues to strengthen its roots.”

Conceptualised on the lines of Indian Premier League (IPL), the tournament witnessed the clash of four teams namely Delhi Sultans, UP Strikers, Chandigarh Lions and South Warriors. The tournament is a brainchild of Para Sports Foundation.

The three-day tournament will now be followed by Asia Cup towards the end of 2018 which would entail participation of six countries.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -