Monday, June 21, 2021
HomeCity NewsLC polls: Cong-NCP likely to finalise seat sharing on Monday

LC polls: Cong-NCP likely to finalise seat sharing on Monday

Congress-NCP is likely to finalise seat sharing on Monday for the December 27 biennial election to the Maharashtra Legislative Council (LC) from local self government bodies.

Leaders from the two parties will meet in Nagpur on Monday. Seat sharing talks had not made any headway due to deadlock over Solapur and Ahmednagar seats.

Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) president Ashok Chavan said the leaders of both parties will meet in Nagpur.

“Talks are on and we expect the pact would be final on Monday,” he said.

The last date of filing of nomination is December 9.

Polling for elections to the eight seats of the Legislative Council from the self-government bodies in Maharashtra would be held on December 27.

The term of following Legislative Council members ends on January 1, 2016 – Amrish Patel (Dhule-Nandurbar), Mahadev Mahadik (Kolhapur), Rajendra Mulak (Nagpur) and Bhai Jagtap (Mumbai) – all from the Congress.

Two Shiv Sena members – state Environment Minister Ramdas Kadam (Mumbai) and Gopikishan Bajoria (Akola Washim Buldhana) – will also retire on the same day.

NCP’s Deepak Salunke (Solapur) and NCP backed Independent Arun Jagtap (Ahmednagar) also retires on January 1.

Congress sources said the party wants to contest Solapur, currently held by NCP. While it was ready to give Nagpur, Akola-Buldhana-Washim to NCP.
However, a NCP office-bearer said it is unlikely the party would give up Solapur seat.

Last time, Congress had contested 5 seats (Mumbai, Kolhapur, Dhule, Nandurbar and Amnednagar) while the NCP had contested Solapur and Akola-Washim-Buldhana.

Congress had four of the five seat, while a NCP rebel had clinched the Ahmednagar seat.

Meanwhile, Mumbai BJP President Ashish Shelar said his party will contest the Council from Mumbai against the Congress candidate.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -