Sunday, June 20, 2021
HomeTop NewsMumbai plays host to achievers

Mumbai plays host to achievers

achieversThe fifth edition of Newsmakers Achievers Awards function was held on 1st May, 2014 at Trident Hotel. The awards were organised with an objective to felicitate people who have made contribution to the society through hard work and determination. Various personalities from all walks of life be it in media, politics, academic and social sector were honoured. The award was handed over to them by eminent personalities.

The hall was set up in a glitzy and glamorous way. All provisions were made to ensure that the guests are comfortable and they enjoy the night. The awardees were escorted right from outside where they alighted from the respective cars/cabs and were taken to their seats. Vaidehi Sachin Group Editor of Newsmakers Broadcasting and Communication Pvt Ltd met each one of them personally as soon as they entered the hall. The guests were welcomed with tutaree.

The show was hosted by actor Umesh Pherwani who kept the audience glued to their seats for the special evening. Prominent Ad filmmaker Shri Alyque Padamsee was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to the Advertising industry. Ram Jethmalani, a well known senior lawyer and politician was felicitated with Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution towards Law and Politics. Noted journalist and media baron Baliram Gaikwad received the lifetime achievement award for his excellence in the field of Journalism.

Shri M Laxminarayan from Bangalore received the Best IAS Officer Award. Ram Jethmalani accepted the best lawyer award on behalf of his son Mahesh Jethmalani. Laxmi Narayan Tripathi received the best social worker award for working for the welfare of Transgender Community. Prem Shukla was honoured with the best Hindi Editor and Journalist award. Vikas Shrivastava bagged the Best TV Journalist award. Swami Tejomayananda received the Best Spiritual Leader award. Bhoomi Trivedi received the best singer award.

India’s best comedian Suresh Menon received the best Comedian award. He said, “I am pleased to receive this award on the occasion of Maharashtra Day. Since I receiving the award for a Marathi film hence it becomes even more special.”

Former BJP members and senior advocate Ram Jethmalani said, “If a politician drowns in the river then it is called pollution but if all politician drowns in the river then it is called solution.”

Choreographer Saroj Khan, who is one of the most successful choreographers in Bollywood was honoured with lifetime achievement award. She said, “If a person is honoured with lifetime achievement award then people expect him to retire from his profession. However, I am not going to retire anytime soon and will continue to work.”

Shri Ramdas Athawle received the Prominent Dalit leader award. He said, “People always have a bad opinion about politicians. However, there are many politicians who are doing good job and are working for the welfare of people. I am thankful to Vaidehiji for honouring a political leader like me. I will continue to work for the welfare of my community and for the unity of the nation.”

Acress Mrinal Kulkarni walked away with the Best Marathi Actress award. She said, “I am thankful to four men in my life which includes my father, father-in-law, husband and son.”

Ajit Hatti, co-founder of null-open security community received the Best Cyber Security Analyst award. He said, “People are yet to know about the risks involved while using net banking and ATM services. I have pointed out the loopholes in system of banks who provide net banking services to customers and asked them to rectify it.”
Vaidehi Sachin, Group Editor of Newsmakers Broadcasting and Communication Pvt Ltd said, “We are the only media firm in Asia to keep parallel media alive. Today media has been controlled by corporate houses, businessmen etc. But Newsmakers has succeeded to break this practice and has managed to sustain itself in this cut throat competitive world.”

Most Popular

- Advertisment -