Thursday, March 23, 2023
HomeCity NewsMumbai Students Win Global Aero-design Contest in the USA

Mumbai Students Win Global Aero-design Contest in the USA

- Advertisement -

Two groups of students from a Mumbai-based engineering college have emerged as winners in the global aero-design competition held in the USA.
While one team won the first prize globally at the Aero Design in Micro Class SAE Aero Design West Micro Class 2014, another team emerged as the top winner from Asia in the Advanced Class contest, a release issued here said.
The competition was held at Fortworth, Texas, United States, from March 28-30, and both the teams returned last week to Anjuman-i-Islam’s M H SabooSiddik College of Engineering at Byculla in Central Mumbai.
The college students have also been invited to participate in other international events of this stature.
The SAE Aero Design competition is intended to provide undergraduate and graduate engineering students with real-life engineering challenges and provide exposure to the kinds of situations that engineers face in their real-life work environment.
SAE Aero Design features three classes of competition-Regular, Advanced, and Micro, the release said.
In the micro class of the competition, the team secured first position and it was accredited by Lockheed Martin and NASA.
“The entire design had overwhelming response in which best institutions such as IIT Kanpur, Vellore Institute of Technology and highly reputed institutions from all over the globe took part,” a spokesperson of the college said.
The team comprised of Sanjay Kumar (Faculty), Adith Ajayan (Captain), Abdul Kadir Poonawala, Imran Merchant, Hussain Shaikh, Muzammil Sarkhot, Darpan Agarwal, Afsan Gujarati and Sharang Biradar, from the automobile engineering stream.
Seventeen teams from across the world including seven teams from India represented by premier Institutes like IIT Kanpur, NIT, Jamshedpur, VIT, Vellore, besides the Mumbai team participated in the advanced category.
In this event, the Indian team missed the top slot narrowly but emerged as the first in Asia, the release said.
The team comprised Deleep Talwai (faculty) Mustafa Hatiyari (captain), Saqlain Siddique, Atharva Joshi, Harshad Bhanushali, Abdul Karim Sarang, Hanif Shaikh, Shehzaad Keralwalla, Faheem Chaudhary, Manish Shukla, Zameer Ansari, Asma Khan and Shaziya Shaikh, who are students of mechanical engineering and electronics engineering.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News