Friday, January 21, 2022
HomeCity NewsCabinet approves Thane district division to create Palghar

Cabinet approves Thane district division to create Palghar

Palghar is all set to be Maharashtra’s 36th district with the state cabinet approving the long pending proposal to bifurcate Thane district.

Eight talukas of Palghar, Jawahar, Mokhada, Talasari, Vasai, Wada, Dahanu and Vikramgad will now form part of Palghar district. The new district headquarters will now be stationed at Palghar.

While Thane, Kalyan, Ambernath, Ulhasnagar, Bhiwandi, Murbad and Shahapur will continue to be part of Thane district.

The government will set aside Rs 450 crore to create infrastructure in Palghar and the new district will come into being from August 1, government sources said.

With the proposal for bifurcation of Thane district cleared, there were more demands for creation of new districts from within the cabinet, they said.

EGS minister Nitin Raut demanded new districts be created in Vidarbha as well for better governance. To which, it was decided to set up a committee to look into the demands and take decisions accordingly.

Thane district has seven municipal corporations and 24 MLAs and there has been demand for bifurcation of the district for better administration.

Most Popular

- Advertisment -[the_ad id="220709"]