BJP MLA Vijender Gupta named Leader of Opposition in Delhi Assembly


Vijender Kumar Gupta, one of the three successful BJP candidates in Delhi Assembly, was on Wednesday named by the party as the Leader of Opposition.
“We have chosen Vijender Gupta as the Leader of Opposition,” BJP leader Prabhat Jha announced.

Gupta, a member of the BJP’s National Executive, was elected from West Delhi’s Rohini constituency and has also been the president of the BJP’s Delhi branch.

The Bharatiya Janta Party suffered a rout in the recently held Delhi Assembly polls, with only three of its candidates securing a seat in the elections.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party won 67 out of the 70 seats on offer in the Delhi polls, becoming the first non-Congress and non-BJP party to rule the city.

Kejriwal was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Delhi’s Lt Governor Najeeb Jung on Saturday while, Manish Sisodia took charge as the deputy chief minister.

The first session of the Delhi Assembly begins on Monday.