Saturday, April 1, 2023
HomeNationFate of Governors hangs in balance

Fate of Governors hangs in balance

- Advertisement -

Fate of more than ten Governors, including Karnataka’s H R Bhardwaj and Punjab’s Shivraj V Patil, appointed by the outgoing UPA government hangs in balance with indications that the new dispensation may politely ask them to vacate the Raj Bhavans.

Officials said the Narendra Modi government, which will take charge, is unlikely to go for wholesale sacking of the Governors but there is every possibility that some of them may be politely asked to put in papers to pave way for new appointments.

“It is quite normal for a new government to ask some of the occupants of Raj Bhavans to resign as their scheme of things may not suit those holding the high constitutional posts,” an official said.

Among the Governors, Bhardwaj (Karnataka), Jagannath Pahadiya (Haryana), Devanand Konwar (Tripura) and Margaret Alva (Rajasthan) will complete their full five-year term in next three-four months.

While Bhardwaj had a strained relationship with the previous BJP government in Karnataka, Alva reportedly shares cordial relations with Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje.

Those who will complete their tenure in six to eight months are – Kamla Beniwal (Gujarat), M K Narayanan (West Bengal), J B Patnaik (Assam), Patil (Punjab) and Urmila Singh (Himachal Pradesh).

Beniwal’s spat with the Modi government in Gujarat over appointment of Lokayukta in the state is well known.

Former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit was appointed

as Kerala Governor in March this year, Jammu and Kashmir Governor N N Vohra was given a second term in April 2013 and former Home Secretary V K Duggal was appointed as Governor of Manipur in December 2013.

Other Governors who may come under review of the new NDA government are B L Joshi (serving his second term in Uttar Pradesh), B V Wanchoo (Goa), K Sankaranarayanan (who is serving his second term in Maharashtra), K Rosaiah (Tamil Nadu), Ram Naresh Yadav (Madhya Pradesh), D Y Patil (Bihar), Shriniwas Dadasaheb Patil (Sikkim), Aziz Quereshi (Uttarakhand), Vakkom Purushothaman (Mizoram) and Syed Ahmed (Jharkhand).

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News